Tome's Land of IT

I’ve been playing with Windows 8 store apps (metro apps) in C# and Xaml recently, and of course I thought it would be cool to launch these apps from within Windows PowerShell.  After some fruitless research trying to find a native way to do this in PowerShell or C#, I learned about a C++ interface called IApplicationActivationManager.

Fortunately, I was able to find some code on Stack Overflow that showed how to use this in C# (the post also listed the registry information I will describe in this article).  After some tweaking the code and the Add-Type syntax, I was able to expose the function I needed into PowerShell.  After that it was only a matter of wrapping the function into something that resembles PowerShell.

The code can be found on poshcode.

Get-MetroApp

This is a simple function that returns all of the metro apps installed on your machine.  Any…

View original post 549 altre parole